Songs to Co-Opt for Libertarian Ends (As Best You Can)

by Stag

  • “Suspect Device” by Stiff Little Fingers; sample lyrics to sing loudly, but extra loudly during G-20 or other jackbooted thuggery life moments are “they take away our freedom/in the name of liberty/why can’t they all just clear off/why can’t they let us be? they make us feel indebted/for saving us from hell/and then they put us through it/ it’s time the baaaaaaaaaastards fell”
  • “Riot Squad” by Cock Sparrer; “he’s in the riot squad/the shoot on sight squad”
  • “Ain’t No Nobody’s Bizness If I Do” by Bessie Smith and other folks; fuck, it’s already downright libertarian with such lyrics: “If I should take a notion, to jump into the ocean/Ain’t nobody’s business if I do.”
  • “Copperhead Road” by Steve Earle; libertarian fantasy lyrics “now the DEA’s got a chopper in the air/I wake up screaming like I’m still over there/I learned a thing or two from Charlie don’t you know/you better stay away from Copperhead road”
  • “Ain’t It Enough” by Old Crow Medicine Show; if only for “let the prison walls crumble and the borders all tumble”
  • “See How We Are” by X; for “there are men lost in jail/crowded 50 to a room” and other prisony lyrics.
  • “Ruby Ridge” by Peter Rowan; non-racist, non-heavy-handed look at real human/government tragedy; “I got a wife and kids on Ruby Ridge/ please don’t shoot me down”
  • “For An Old Kentucky Anarchist” by Erik Petersen/Mischief Brew/The Orphans; Do your own thing: “I never cared much for any government/ I got my Jesus for me when the time is right”
  • “Fuck Tha Police” by NWA; shame about the sexism and homophobia, but: “searchin’ my car/lookin’ for the product/Thinkin’ every nigga is sellin’ narcotics”
  • “Washington Bullets” by The Clash; it scorns the U.S. and wretched lefty regimes with “N’ if you can find a Afghan rebel/That the Moscow bullets missed/Ask him what he thinks of voting Communist/Ask the Dalai Lama in the hills of Tibet/How many monks did the Chinese get?”
  • “Holiday in Cambodia” by the Dead Kennedys; slanders fashion rebels in the U.S. and tries to point out the heinousness of the Khmer Rouge: “Well you’ll work harder/ With a gun in your back/For a bowl of rice a day/Slave for soldiers/Till you starve/Then your head is skewered on a stake”
  • “Minority” by Green Day; your basic I am me and I rule: “I don’t need your authority/Down with the moral majority/Cause I want to be the minority” 
  • “Bye Bye Policeman” by Jim Jackson, covered by the Carolina Chocolate Drops: I am never sure if the narrator kills the policeman or just waves him away from his gambling: “He said, “Stop there, boy! I’m the law, I command you!”/I said, “I ain’t thinkin’ ’bout that law you’re tryin’ to hand me”/
    Lord, I was pickin’ ‘em up, layin’ ‘em down/Curvin’ in and curvin’ ’round/Policeman, bye-bye”

Any more suggestions? Depends on how loose you want to get with libertarianism, and how much shitty music you are willing to tolerate?

And, of course, how much you like Rand or Rush.